5 Pre-Workout Snack Ideas

While I was on Pinterest today I came across these awesome pre-workout snacks and I can’t wait to try these out! They made me really excited, so I thought that I would share these with you guys too.

Deciding what to eat before a workout is usually quite difficult for me. I don’t want to eat anything too heavy such as toast or a fruit smoothie because those types of foods tend to make me bloat, but I also don’t want to settle for something too light that wont sustain me before my workout. So I am keen to try out some of these ideas and see how they work for me.

Protein Pops from Grok Grub:

How amazingly delicious do these look? These pretty pops instantly caught my eye and are perfect for those summer days when it’s scorching hot and you need a little extra motivation to work out. I don’t think I would add the pre-workout to mine, so I guess they could be used as both a pre and post-workout snack. I will just have to resist eating them all at once!

Pre-Workout-Protein-Popsicles2.jpg

Click here for the recipe.

Apples dipped in Peanut Butter Yoghurt from The Two Bite Club:

I mean, how can you possibly go wrong with peanut butter? This sounds like the perfect pre-workout snack to me, is is substantial but not too much food and contains natural sugars and proteins to help boost your energy levels. As an alternative you could add 1 scoop of chocolate protein powder to the yoghurt for a chocolate protein dip (trust me, I know it sounds weird, but it tastes amazing).

creamy-peanut-butter-dip-4.jpg

Click here for recipe.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Granola Bars from Camille Styles:

These look great, and they have chocolate in them, AND peanut butter. This is obviously a match made in heaven! These are great to make ahead of time as the recipe states that it makes 16 bars, so these would be great if you like to prepare your snacks ahead of time, or don’t have a lot time during the week, all you need to do is spend one day of the weekend making them and you are sorted for two weeks! Instead of dark chocolate I would probably use cacao nibs, but dark chocolate will work great if it is very 75% cocoa.

aloha-chocolate-10

Click here for the recipe.

Peanut Butter Energy Balls from The Glowing Fridge:

So I have made some of these before, and they are so addictive, but I changed the recipe slightly. You can find my recipe in my previous post here. These are a great snack to grab on the go. They are super easy and quick to make and so easy to customize. I added chocolate protein powder to mine just for a little bit more of a chocolate flavour and for some extra protein!

Screen Shot 2016-03-09 at 7.53.23 PM.png

Click here for the recipe.

Banana Sushi from Fit Foodie Finds:

How delicious does this look? I have to try this, like tomorrow! I have seen versions of this recipe where the banana covered in peanut butter and then wrapped in a whole wheat wrap, which i think is a quick and healthy snack (okay, its probably not the healthiest of all the snacks above but it would be great for sustaining energy during your workout). This recipe however excludes the whole wheat wrap and sticks to using nut butters only. The chocolate dip is a great idea if you use dark chocolate or cacao nibs, these can be refrigerated or even frozen and they don’t take long to make at all.

sushi10.jpg

Click here for recipe.

I hope you enjoy these and try out a few of them! I will definitely be making some of these soon. If you want to see how they turn out follow me on SnacpChat: nicolebastos94 or Instagram @very_much_up_shoes_blog as I will post all my updates there!

xx

*Please note that none of the above images are my own and I do not take any credit for them. They are from the sites which are referenced in each recipe, and all links and websites have been credited for them.

One thought on “5 Pre-Workout Snack Ideas

Leave a Reply

